An Australian coffee snob’s guide to New York City

Before I left for my holiday I was so excited about exploring New York City, but there was a tiny part of me that was worried I’d have to resort to drinking Starbucks. But I took a very small list of recommended coffee joints, many of them started up by expat Aussies, and I was not let down once.

READ MORE: A man with a plan: my map of New York City
READ MORE: Top five cheap eats in New York City

I’ve listed my three favourite coffee places in New York City (with eight locations between them) as well as a map of other coffee places that were recommended to me but never got to try for myself. In no particular order…

Little Collins
http://www.littlecollinsnyc.com/
667 Lexington Ave
Little Collins was a great experience and cured any sign of homesickness the second I walked in, with the sea of Australian accents and the PERFECT latte like I had been missing while I was in Los Angeles.

Bluestone Lane
http://www.bluestonelaneny.com/
West Village (Main Cafe): 55 Greenwich Avenue
Midtown East: 805 3rd Avenue
NOHO: 770 Broadway
Bryant Park: 1114 Avenue of the Americas
Financial District: 30 Broad St

Bluestone Lane was a New York City saviour with locations dotted all over Manhattan. I visited the main cafe in the West Village, so I can only speak for the coffee I had from there, but oh my goodness was it good. Smooth but strong coffee made with reasonable speed. The cafe also does food, and judging by the fact it was impossible to get a seat, it must be reasonably good.

Culture Espresso
http://www.cultureespresso.com/
Culture Espresso: 72 W 38th Street
Culture 36: 247 W 36th Street
Culture Espresso was a pleasant surprise. I got a bit nervous when I walked in to the West 38th shop as all the staff were Brooklyn hipsters with not a hint of Australian accent. But not only was the coffee great, but the chocolate chip cookie I impulsed purchased was so good that I said “oh my gah” out loud in public, and then spent five minutes working out whether I should line up for another one. I now wish I did.

The map below shows where all the best coffee places are listed in New York City, including the Doughnut Plant stores selling Toby’s Estate Coffee. While you’re there you can try their doughnuts like I told you to in my previous post.

Leave a comment